Strength and Grace

(This is a departure from my usual content, but I feel like writing this entry to go along with my awesome friend Aly’s entry, which can be found here)

There’s a woman I know.  I’ve never had the privilege to meet her face to face, but over the years that I’ve known her online, I’ve been lucky enough to see displays of her intelligence, her wit, her compassion, and her kindness.

Over the last few weeks, life has dealt her an incredibly shitty hand, one that she did nothing to deserve.  She gave and loved and got nothing in return but pain and sorrow.   The things she’s been through?  Just one of them would be enough to send your average person into an emotional tailspin, burrowed under the covers, never wanting to come out.  But she goes on, her head held high in the face of everything that is being dished out at her.  She does not speak hate-filled words, though I’m sure she longs to.  She sacrifices her own feelings to ensure that her three beautiful children have happy memories for as long as they possibly can.  She endures it all in the hopes that one day, it will get better.

My friend, I know it will get better.  I am continually amazed by the way in which you reach out to others in need, regardless of your own pain.  I am amazed by the strength and grace you personify as you stand, resilient in the face of those who would knock you down.  You will triumph because you are strong, so unbelievably strong.  I admire you, I respect you, and I am honored to call you a friend.   You are one hell of a woman.

Leave a comment